Region 6 - Northwest New Mexico Regional Water Plan - Accepted by the ISC in 2004

The water planning region encompasses Cibola County and portions of McKinley County. The principal river basins are the Puerco River and Zuni River, tributary to the Little Colorado River in McKinley County and the Rio San Jose, tributary to the Rio Grande in Cibola County. The principal aquifers are the Cow Springs- Bluff within the Bluewater Basin and the Crevasse Canyon Formation within the Gallup Basin. The region is bounded on the north by the continental divide within McKinley County, on the west by Arizona, on the south by Catron and Socorro counties and on the east by Valencia, Bernalillo and Sandoval counties.