New Mexico Office of the State Engineer

Water Information
Waters Database
Water Use and Conservation
Program Support
Special Projects
Related Links
News Archive
section title

Region 10 - Lower Pecos Valley Regional Water Plan

The water planning region encompasses Chaves County, Eddy County and portions of De Baca, Lincoln and Otero counties. The principal river basin is the Lower Pecos River. The principal aquifers underlay the Fort Sumner Basin, the Roswell Basin, the Hondo Basin, the Penasco Basin, the Carlsbad Basin, and the Capitan Basin. The region is bounded on the north by Torrance, Guadelupe and DeBaca counties; on the west by upper ridges of the Jicarilla, the Capitan, the Sacramento and the Guadelupe mountain ranges; on the south by Texas, and on the east by Roosevelt and Lea counties.

Accepted by the Interstate Stream Commission, August 23, 2001