New Mexico Office of the State Engineer

Water Information
Waters Database
Water Use and Conservation
Program Support
Special Projects
Related Links
News Archive
section title

Region 4 - Southwest New Mexico Regional Water Plan

The water planning region encompasses Catron, Grant, Hidalgo, and Luna Counties. The principal river basin is the Gila River, tributary to the Lower Colorado River. Principal aquifers are associated with the Gila River Basin and the Mimbres Basin. The region is bounded on the north by Cibola County, on the west by Arizona, on the south by Mexico, and on the east by Socorro, Sierra and Doña Ana Counties.

Accepted by the Interstate Stream Commission in 2005.