Water Planning in New Mexico

New Mexico has 16 water planning regions, each with its own water plan. New Mexico also has a State Water Plan. The regional and state water plans are vital tools intended to guide water management in the state to best meet all the state’s water users – now and into the future. Strategic water planning is best informed by accurate and reliable data and engaged citizens, which leads to better implementation.

Water Planning Regions Region 2 - San Juan Region 6 - Northwest New Mexico Region 4 - Southwest New Mexico Region 16 - Lea County Region 1 - Northeast New Mexico Region 9 - Colfax Region 7 - Taos Region 14 - Rio Chama Region 10 - Lower Pecos Valley Region 11 - Lower Rio Grande Region 12 - Middle Rio Grande Region 15 - Socorro-Sierra Region 3 - Jemez y Sangre Region 8 - Mora-San Miguel Region 13 - Estancia Basin

State Water Plan

2018 State Water Plan - Update In Progress

Regional Water Plans

Current Plans Updated 2016-2017

State Water Plan Reviews